Use your privilege: vote

fullsizerender-54

Opinion of Allanah Taylor

It’s a funny situation, being raised in a country but not being able to vote. When I was three months old, my parents and I moved to Wichita, Kansas from Wrexham, Wales where my dad started to work at Raytheon Aircraft. In total, with moving to Canada for almost four years, I’ve lived in the US for over 16 years. I grew up here, learned about the history and politics of the country, however, I’m unable to vote.

If I was an American citizen, this would be the first election I would be able to vote in. Even though I’m unable to vote, I still follow politics and know who I believe would be fit to become president of the United States.

One of the biggest downsides, other than not being able to vote, is hearing that American citizens “can’t be bothered” or “don’t see the point.” Anybody that has the opportunity to vote, in this election in particular, should find it crucial to do so. Thinking that your vote doesn’t count, could not be farther from the truth. If everyone stopped believing that their vote counted, how would we declare the next president? How do you expect your voice to be heard, not only on political topics but in all aspects of the country?

If you are able to vote, you should be taking full advantage of that. Because, coming from someone who doesn’t have the opportunity to do so, it is very irritating to hear that you didn’t. You may be unexcited about this election and grit your teeth at who the candidates are, but I highly encourage you to register to vote by October 18th.

Register to vote here: http://www.voteks.org/

Leave a Reply

